Schedulingmail_outline

Scheduling helps project managers manage workloads for their teams to increase efficiency and minimize going over time on projects. This can help ensure that each team member is working on the right assignments at the right time, and manage expectations with your stakeholders on timing and delivery. 

Enabling Scheduling

To enable the Scheduling features across your account, navigate to the the General sub-navigation in Account Settings. To enable or disable, click the toggle to the right of the Scheduling feature.

Manage Scheduling Permission

To allow project managers or other team members to view the team schedule or manage team availability and assignments, you will need to assign the Manage Scheduling permission to the applicable user roles.

From the Settings sub-navigation, select Permissions. Select the Manage Scheduling permission found under Administration.

Check the appropriate box to enable or disable the permission per role and click Save.

Setting Personal Availability

Once Scheduling is enabled, each Team Member will be able to edit their weekly availability from Personal Settings.

To navigate to Personal Settings, select your avatar in the bottom left of the global navigation bar. Then select Availability from the Settings sub-navigation menu.

To edit total available hours per day, select the number of hours to the right of the day that you would like to change. Enter the updated hours and click Save.

Setting Team Availability

Once Scheduling is enabled, Admins and user roles assigned the Manage Scheduling permission will be able to set availability on behalf of other Team Members.

To set availability for another user, select People on the global navigation menu. Click on the actions menu found on the applicable user card and select Edit.

Select the Availability tab from the user modal.

To edit total available hours per day, select the number of hours to the right of the day that you would like to change. Enter the updated hours and click Save.

Creating a New Assignment

A work assignment is a block of time associated with an individual user and task. Creating an assignment sets aside a dedicated amount of the user's available time to complete their required work. 

Only users with the permission to Manage Scheduling will be able to create or edit assignments.

To schedule a work assignment, navigate to the applicable task or proof. Click the Assignment button to the right of the work item modal.

You can choose from two types of assignments, Single Day or Range. Single Day will set aside the hours entered on a specific date. 

A Range assignment will set aside the hours entered divided equally per each day in the range.

To search for an available user to complete the work, begin typing in the User field. The system will automatically filter the list to only include task or proof members. To search all team members on the account, toggle the Filter by task members option as needed. Click to select the preferred user.

If you select a user that is not currently a member of the task, the system will automatically add them as a member.

Once selected, the modal will display the overall impact of adding this work item to the user's workload for the date range selected.

Click Create Assignment to finalize your selections.

If an LOE is not set on the work item, or the total LOE is less than the total hours of assignment, the system will automatically increase the total LOE to match the total hours of assignment.

When a user is 90-100% booked, their avatar will appear within an orange colored circle in the user search list. If they are overbooked, this circle will appear in red.

If you select a user with no time available, the modal will also display that impact and the amount of time over the user's typical availability.

Editing Assignments

To edit an assignment, navigate to the related work item and select the Time tab. Click on the actions menu to the right of the assignment date you would like to change and select Edit. Make changes as needed and click Save.

Assignment vs. Time

Once the user adds time to a work item with an assignment, the Time tab on the work modal will display a progress bar showing recorded time against assigned time.

To view assignments and recorded time entries, open the task or proof, and select Time.

Team Schedule

Once Scheduling is enabled, Admins and user roles assigned the Manage Scheduling permission will also see a new global navigation icon to view the Schedule.

From the Schedule, you can add, edit, delete, move, or merge assignments.

To quickly add a new assignment, hover over the day of the week to the right of the applicable user and click to begin.

To view, edit, or delete an assignment, simply click on the existing assignment and choose from the pop-up modal. 

To move an assignment you can drag and drop from one day to another, or from one user to another to reassign the work. If you drag an assignment onto a day that already has an existing assignment allotted for the same work item, these items will merge together. 

For any assignment changes related to a drag and drop action, a toast notification will appear in the bottom right hand corner of the screen notifying you of this change. You can also click Undo from the notification if the change was accidental.

Project Schedule

You can also view the Schedule at the project level if you would like to manage assignments filtered to only project work and project team members. Navigate to any project details page and select the Schedule tab to view assignments related to the project at hand. From the Project Schedule, the team member availability will reflect their total account-wide assignments, but only project work assignments will be visible across the weekly calendar.

Dashboard

When Scheduling is enabled, all Team Members with existing assignments will also see an at-a-glance view of their upcoming week and work assignments. From the Dashboard, the team member can select the work item and click to view additional details or navigate to the task or proof.