Managing Roles and Permissionsmail_outline

What are Roles?

Roles allow you to customize permissions for the different types of users in your account. From Project Managers to Reviewers, every user must be assigned to a role, which determines their level of access to features and functionality. You can create new roles to reflect your account's unique organization.

Role Types

Admin

All roles can be edited apart from the Admin. This role holds all available permissions and is the only role type that has the permission, Manage Admin Users. You must be an Admin in order to create or edit additional Admin users.

Team Member

Team Member roles allow users to access internal account information, which could include projects, tasks, proofs, and account settings. Team Member role types can be assigned any of the available user permissions except for Manage Admin Users.

Stakeholder

Stakeholder roles allow external users to submit requests and/or provide feedback and approval statuses during a review. They cannot see any project, task, or proof information. Users with this role type are free and unlimited on your inMotion account.

Creating a Role

By default, inMotion provides you with four predetermined roles: Admin, Project Manager, Team Member, and, Stakeholder. Apart from the Admin role, you can further customize these roles or create your own.

To create a new role, select your avatar icon in the bottom left of the global navigation menu and choose the option, Account Settings. 

Access to Account Settings is managed by the permission, Manage Account Settings.

From the Settings sub-navigation, select Roles. Click Add Role from the top right-hand side of the page.

Provide a role name, description and role type. You can copy the permissions from another role to initiate the new role, otherwise no permissions will be assigned upon creation. Finalize your submission by clicking Create Role.

Assigning Permissions

Once you have created the role, you will need to assign the relevant permissions in order to define the role's level of access. From the Settings sub-navigation, select Permissions.

Select the permission that you would like to add or remove from the role. Check the appropriate box to enable or disable the permission per role and click Save.

Deleting a Role

To delete a role, select Roles from the Settings sub-navigation menu. Click the action menu from the right-hand side of the role you would like to delete. Click Delete and then, Delete This Role to confirm.

If there are any users assigned the role you are attempting to delete, the system will ask you to choose an existing role to reassign them to. Any applicable users will be logged out at that time.